The incredible importance of critical thinking

She’s much nicer and more patient about this kind of thing than I. It’s good to have people like this engaging in civil discourse.

Brittany M. Plothow

I was in my freshman year of university, sitting in an entry level sociology course. My professor was a tiny Hobbit of a man, with a mop of white hair which stuck out in every possible direction. He would stumble into class and challenge us from his first breath and it was thrilling. I went to university to be challenged and this professor successfully accomplished that.

The clearest memory and example of this, one that has stuck with me to this day is as follows.

Professor Baggins (not his real name) was addressing the class about how there tends to be a correlation between education level and political liberalism. Up until this point in my life I had considered myself a conservative and a republican. The thing is, however, I had no idea what that meant. All I knew was that my mom was conservative as were the majority of…

View original post 593 more words

Share your thoughts

