Initial Thoughts on The Force Awakens

This is by a friend and former colleague from ILM. Tad is amazingly talented, as well as enthusiastically geeky. He’s great. Enjoy!

LOS ANGELES: 2019

It’s all spoilers, people. You have been warned!

At the time of this writing, I’ve seen Star Wars: The Force Awakens twice: once with Beca and Annika on opening day, and once with Beca and my sister-in-law on Christmas Eve. These are my initial thoughts after those two viewings and many hours of rumination and conversation. It’s hard for me to analyze a text I can’t readily access, so I know I’ll revisit all this stuff once the Blu-ray comes out and I can pick it apart and illustrate my points directly. Until then, here are some of my thoughts about the movie…


FN-2187: “There is a person in there.”

Finn_Profile

When Finn (then still FN-2187), sees his comrade get shot on Jakku, he bends to comfort him, and the dying trooper’s bloody had leaves red streaks on FN-2187’s helmet. During this scene, two things popped into my mind simultaneously. One…

View original post 2,517 more words

Share your thoughts

